• Select Category:
Search Jobs: Location:

Sign in or Register

Visit our forum for discussions and information on jobs.

Free Daily Job Leads

New subscribers receive a FREE listing of more than 325 Work-at-Home companies.

Employers Submit your Telecommute Position Here.

Call our support line today

Share this page. Digg Del.icio.us Facebook Reddit Google StumbleUpon
Follow us on twitter!
tweet

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Asks for Credit Report
Posted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:42 pm 

Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:35 pm
Posts: 3
I have received an email from a company that read : "You have made it to the finals. There is a good probability that soon youare our new office assistant.
One of the various assignments would be managing monetary affairs, so forobvious reasons we would like you to email or fax us a credit report. Youcan easily get one absolutely free at http://www.FineCreditCheck.org. :?:
Has anyone else ever come across this? I am new to the work at home and I am not comfortable with this.
All I want is a legit job I can do a few hours at home.
Please let me know as I sent back a reply saying I was not comfortable with faxing or emailing this information and so I declined the position.
Mywoobin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asks for Credit Report
Posted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:52 pm 

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 5:21 am
Posts: 991
Mary794 wrote:
I have received an email from a company that read : "You have made it to the finals. There is a good probability that soon youare our new office assistant.
One of the various assignments would be managing monetary affairs, so forobvious reasons we would like you to email or fax us a credit report. Youcan easily get one absolutely free at http://www.FineCreditCheck.org. :?:
Has anyone else ever come across this? I am new to the work at home and I am not comfortable with this.
All I want is a legit job I can do a few hours at home.
Please let me know as I sent back a reply saying I was not comfortable with faxing or emailing this information and so I declined the position.
Mywoobin



Mary I would run, run, run as fast as I could from this particular email. I looked at the site you posted and it is just a business for your to pay to get your own personal credit report. As for sending them if you have one already your personal credit report, what is the point? They do not need something like that so you can have a job as an office assistant. The the second red flag is when they said "you have made it to the finals" such a lure for sure with those words. Something for nothing. Run and NEVER PAY ANYONE when you get emails like for a job, red flag SCAM.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asks for Credit Report
Posted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 7:19 pm 

Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:35 pm
Posts: 3
Thank you ever so much. It seems I am going in circles. I have applied to a lot of positions that would be so right for me, but have not heard from any. And I am so afraid of getting scamed.
I did not know if I was doing the right thing about joining VirtualVocations -but at least now I have someone to discuss these problems with.
Thanks again :P ,
Mary


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asks for Credit Report
Posted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 9:00 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:45 pm
Posts: 55
I agree with Rebecca, I think this is a scam. I've read about similar, but not matching, ones on other sites.

What the scams have in common is that they arrive in your mailbox unsolicited, they offer a job and they ask for financial information. Real job offers come in response to an application you submitted. Even if you have a resume on a career site, any company contacting you because of it would mention the site. They would most likely want to know more about you before actually offering a job. Any personal information they needed they would request after hiring.

The scams I saw where the type where the scammer would send you a fraudulent check and ask that you deposit it and send (real) money from your account to a third party. That scam leaves you open to losing money and, maybe, prosecution. This one is a little more direct. With information from your credit report the scammer would have everything he or she needed for identity theft.

A reminder for those interested, the official site for the yearly free credit reports is https://www.annualcreditreport.com. Most of the others are offering a free trial of their services. You can usually get a free credit report but they require credit card information and will charge you if you don't cancel before the free trial ends.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Asks for Credit Report
Posted: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:34 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 1:51 am
Posts: 28
Mary,

I get many of those types of responses when I apply for jobs on Craigslist. It seems that they are trying to get you to click on their link to the credit report and "purchase" the free credit report. I have seen on some complaint boards that they have also charged for other things after a "free" trial period. Check out this blog on the subject. http://livingwithdavid.wordpress.com/20 ... raigslist/.

Good luck with your job search. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: